“It came in the mail”: or “I #@!$ing did something”

An arrival came in the mail today.

Click to make more bigger

Now I know, I know. It’s only a stupid proof. Not only that, but it’s only a self published proof through Createspace.

For those who don’t know Createspace is a self publishing platform that is part of Amazon.It let’s you upload, publish, create a cover, market, and sell your own writing. All for free, they just take a pretty good percentage of any sales. But if you are an unpublished writer, any kind of exposure is something. It’s pretty awesome what they can do these days.

This is the first novel I wrote. It was just sitting in my desk not really doing anything. I haven’t gotten any traction on either selling it or getting an agent from it. So I figured, “Why the hell not”. I uploaded it, and created a pretty generic cover from their templates. And then I ordered a proof, so I could do exactly that, proof read. I was stunned to find out how cheap it was to get just one bound copy for myself. Under ten bucks to see my work in print. With a barecode no less.

It looks like a book, feels like a book, smells like a book, It’s a book!

This actually makes my somewhat satisfied. Sure I don’t have a contract. I haven’t made any money off of it so to speak. I don’t have an agent, and It’s not in book stores. But to me this is freekin cool.

At this point I care little about the money. This somehow solidifies the fact that I actually did something with all that time. Feeling the book in my hands, makes me feel somewhat justified, and proud that I even bothered to try, and stuck with it, and finished it.

It certainly isn’t Shakespeare. It might not be any good at all. But it was my first book. So it will always hold a special place in my heart no matter how many adverbs are in it. Having a printed copy somehow makes it all real.

W.

Leave a Reply

