The “Keep moving forward” philosophy

I am a big fan of the “Keep moving forward” philosophy, especially when it comes to writing.

The Quote I believe, correct me if I’m wrong, is attributed to the late great Walt Disney. It is also heavily used in the “Meet the Robinsons” movie that my boys like to watch.

Now there are some times when this quote doesn’t work so well. Say you are going the wrong way on the interstate, and end up in a different state. Now basic logic suggests that you should probably not continue moving forward. Unless of course you want to be in a state you don’t want to be in.

But for writing there is no better quote, or inspiration. Writing is a game of persistence. The more you write. The better it gets. End of story.

You might be the worst writer in the entire world. (and I’ve thought that about myself a few times). But if you continue to write you will get better. Not great perhaps. Not even good, like me…(I know, I know, I’ve got a bit of a self defeating attitude. That’s just the writer talking).

The point is, that writing is a game of continuing to move forward.

I notice this quite often. When I write a lot, the writing comes from my fingertips and mind much faster. If it’s been awhile since I’ve written anything, I can usually compose about 800 words per hour. And that’s a bit of stop and go. But if I’ve been writing for several days in a row, I’m able to produce 1500 words per hour.

I of course am not the first writer to suggest this. In fact almost every book on writing tells you the very same thing; Keep writing, every day. Or from another cheesy movie, “A writer writes”.

The mark you’re looking for is approximately one million words. I know this seems like a big, impossible to reach number. Well lets do some basic math. If I were to write at my worst 800 words per hour, for say three hours a day. That’s 2400 a day. Divide that by one million, and it comes out to 416 days. That’s a little over a year. Even if your rate of production is half that, you would have your one million words by year three. (please check my math on all that, I’m a writer not a mathamaperson).

Anyway, to sum it all up. The point is “Keep moving forward”. The rest will come.

W.

Leave a Reply

