Can I edit this thing already?!

Since I finished the first draft last Saturday, and after getting over the whole black hole nonsense, I’ve been itching to start editing this book.

Problem is, I need to give it some time to rest. Well at least that’s what they all say. I guess it’s supposed to give you a fresh start, clear your mind, cleanse your palate and what not. I believe I am only going to give this piece a week though.

So Sunday I start edits on this monster.

One disappointing thing about finishing this project is that I finished the novel before I got my 50,000 words into campnanowrimo. What I mean to say is that I started part three of this Novel,  at the same time that nanowrimo started their summer camp dealio. The problem was that part three didn’t quiet make it to 50,000 words.

What do I say to that…Stuff it, I don’t really need Nanowrimo to tell me I’m a winner. It’s the work itself that is going to decide whether I’m worthless, or mediocre, or a winner. So only time will tell. Here is a good blog post by Chuck Wendig called 25 things you should know about nanowrimo. This article pretty much takes nano and grounds it into the real world.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved Nano for a few reasons.; It did help me with the day-to-day grind of getting it done. It pushed me to try to meet the daily deadlines. And it was kinda neat seeing the progress graph. Seeing what my work patterns look like in graph form. I mean come on, who doesn’t like a good graph. You can prove anything with a graph…

W.

Leave a Reply

