What is this Wattpad? And why haven’t I heard of it until now?

I just stumbled onto Wattpad the other day. And when I say stumble, I mean the actual oops I accidentally tripped onto it.  Not Stumbleupon (If you haven’t heard about Stumbleupon then you need to check it out. Though I don’t think there’s anyone on the planet who hasn’t heard about the greatest, and most wonderful-est time waster in the world.)

Anyway, I don’t know what rock I’ve been living under, but this Wattpad is freekin brilliant. As a writer you can upload any of your stories for free reading. For readers you can read all the short stories/novel chapters you want for free.

When I first jumped onto the site I thought “oh this is kinda cool, if anybody reads anything”.

After uploading three short stories, I already had over a dozen hits on each of them within one day. This, more than anything shocked and delighted me.

Sure no one is voting on them, or following me, but hell, the only thing a writer wants (besides writing) is to be read.

There is so much material available on this site. It really does amaze me. What amazes me even more is that I had never heard of it until now. I don’t know anything about their history. They could have been around for years. Of course I do have a tendency to hide under a rock sometimes. A habit that I am working on as we speak. Hold on one second, here comes Wikipedia…yep, like i figured, I’m the last to hear about it. apparently they’ve been around since 2006.

If you’re like me, always the last stop on the bus, then you need to check it out, whether you are a reader or a writer, or both.

Read, write, live…or something like that.

W.

3 Comments on “What is this Wattpad? And why haven’t I heard of it until now?”

  1. As a writer all you want to do is be read – so true. Thanks for the post, going to go and check it out.

    • wtgeorge says:

      Thanks for the comment. Yes I believe that it is often something that is hard to admit. So many writers say “I write only because I love it”. As much as this is true, there is a small part of every writer that just wants recognition, no matter how small it might be.

      • Yes, I agree completely. I love writing but I also hate it. There are days when the muse is on and there are the days when I am searching under rocks and filing a missing persons report. I think as much as I love writing. I love people reading my work more and getting it; I don’t even mind them hating it – at least there has been a reaction.


Leave a Reply

