Feet vs. great feat…overcoming fear and adversity.

I realize that the post on grammar that I put up last night was a bit bitter.

There is a good reason though.

I am the first to admit that I am really not very good at grammar. I never have been. I was diagnosed with a learning disability when I was very young. It’s something I have lived with my whole life.

I have a lot of trouble with words like feet/feat where/were there/their and all of that fun stuff. I have big problems with repeated words. Massive seems to be my favorite. I have difficulty grasping the so called “elements of style” and the rules of grammar, structure, and spelling. I also have difficulty with the definitions of the words noun, pronoun, adjective, adverb, and the like.

Now I am absolutely not looking for sympathy.

But I ask the world, should I give up? should I retire and say “well it’s just not for me”. Should I lie down and let the dogs eat me alive because I’m tired. Should I stop doing the one thing that I love to do more than anything.

F— No…

I push forward. I give it my best every day. I learn as much as I can, no matter how slow I might be at it. And I will never, ever, ever give up.

And neither should any of you. When someone tells you you’re not good enough, I want you to stand up and say “go f— yourself…”(or just ignore them, and continue on) say “I will not lie down and surrender because you don’t think I’m good enough. I will not disappear into the darkness. And I will succeed. I will move on. And I will conquer my faults, and my fear of failure.”

And always, always remember those who have helped you to overcome. For they are the unsung heroes in life. So thank you, Mongo, Jake, Jim, Nicole, and all the others who give me a shoulder to lean on.

W.

Leave a Reply

